This is the "Annotated Bibliography" page of the "How to create an Annotated Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to create an Annotated Bibliography  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2010 URL: http://lynn.libguides.com/annotatedbib Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Annotations/Abstracts

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's point of view, clarity and appropriateness of expression, and authority.

 

Credit

This page was adapted from How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography, with permission from the Reference Department,Collections, Reference, Instruction & Outreach (CRIO),Cornell University Library,Ithaca, NY, USA.

 

What is an Annonated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
 

Steps to Creating an Annotated Bibliography

1.    Locate and record citations of peer reviewed and scholarly articles that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

2.    Cite the article using the appropriate style. For the Dialogues use the MLA format.

3.    Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the article. Include one or more sentences that

  • (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author,
  • (b) comment on the intended audience,
  • (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or
  • (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

For more information see Critically Analyzing Information Sources.

4.    For this assignment you also have to choose the article you think is strongest and the one you think is weakest and explain why.

Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Leecy Barnett
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
First Floor Library next to Information Desk.
Phone: 561-237-7059
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip